Dresden Files book review

Book Review: Dresden Files Series

Dresden Files, by Jim Butcher, is a book series about the only wizard listed in the Chicago phone book. He is a PI for hire, and helps the local law enforcement. I started reading this series from the suggestion of my uncle, who was multiple books deep already and said I would probably enjoy it. And I did. There are a few books in the series that have been better than others, but that will always happen with a large series.

Dresden Files is a huge series, currently there are 15 books released, and multiple more books planned. The series also has a few short stories and graphic novels that go along with the entire world, but I have not read through those. I have read all of the books that are out right now.


I love the books because they are an easy read, and still fit with the sci-fi/fantasy theme that I enjoy reading. As with the Harry Potter series, it is a magical world set in a real world location, and for the most part is very believable that it could be possible. The books are interesting, but not too complex, and are written well. Dresden Files also has a lot of mystery/detective themes as well. After all, Dresden is a PI, so most of the books are centered around trying to solve a mystery, missing person case, missing objects, etc.


Harry Blackstone Copperfield Dresden is the main character of the series, and over time, you see him grow as a person, as a wizard, and as a friend. All of the main characters grow throughout the series, and change as a result of their surroundings, personal choices, and moral conflicts. The books are full of diverse characters, people you love, and people you love to hate. There are characters that you don’t like at first, but they tend to grow on you, and others that seem good at the beginning but take a turn at some point.

Related:  Book Review: Inheritance Cycle


The Dresden Files series is riddled with characters having to make choices. Some of these choices are personal moral choices and always come with a consequence. There are often times when a character has to make a decision and sacrifice for the greater good, such as when Harry has to kill the mother of his child to save their daughter and to rid the world of an entire species of vampire. It comes at a great cost to him, and changes him.


Religion doesn’t show up in the earlier books as much as it does in the later books. Harry teams up with the Knights of the Cross who wield swords inlaid with the nails used in the crucifixion. The religion is not overdone, and doesn’t feel like it is out of place, but there are religious tones to a few of the books. There are references to the Bible, both in good light and in sarcasm, so it has to be taken lightly.


I feel like the Dresden Files can be read by a wide audience. They have an urban-fantasy, slightly noir feel to the books that will capture readers from teens to early twenties, all the way to adults in their forties and fifties. The books to contain a lot of violence, and some sex scenes, so are not suitable for younger readers. There is also some crude language here and there in the books.

Reading Order

Each of the books in the series is it’s own story from start to finish, but they are meant to be read in order. Each book builds off the last in terms of character development and growth, relationships, storylines, etc. So while they can be read as a single book, they would be much more enjoyable when read in the order they were published.

Overall, the Dresden Files is full of wit, adrenaline, sarcasm, fantasy, love, magic, adventure, and all things supernatural from werewolves to faeries to vampires and everything in between that keep you wanting more. Have you read the Dresden Files books? What are your thoughts on the series?

Related:  Book Review: Hunger Games

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Dresden Files Series

What do you think?