Caramel Lovers Unite! National Caramel Day + 145 Recipes

Caramel Lovers Unite! National Caramel Day + 145 Recipes

Caramel, that ooey-gooey delicious candy that we all know and love, is made from heating a combination of sugars. Since today is National Caramel Day, what better way to celebrate than to look at a quick history of the candy and give you dozens of recipes to try out for your own?

During the mid-1800s, most of the candy being produced was hard candies, but a few candy makers were also making the softer version which is close to the caramel we know today. I also find it interesting that Hershey’s candy started with caramel, and he found the joys of chocolate while finding new things to cover the caramel candy. A few other notable candy companies in the history of caramel include The American Caramel Company, Goetze’s Candy Company, and Brach’s Candy.

There are many types of caramel, and they are all made with a few basic ingredients: milk, condensed milk, corn syrup, sugar, oil, butter, and molasses. The kinds of milk keep the candies soft while the corn syrup and molasses add some of the sweet flavors. The fatty ingredients help keep caramels elastic.

Src: https://www.everydayhealth.com/diet-nutrition/welcome-candy-land-history-caramels/

Even though I love caramel, I only have two recipes that have caramel in them. I’m definitely going to be trying some of these other recipes as soon as I get a chance!

Better-Than-Sex Cake Recipe

Spiked Hot Apple Cider Recipe

Other Caramel Recipes to enjoy:

Alfojores (South American Sandwich Cookies with Dulce de Leche) https://www.thespicedlife.com/alfajores-creativecookieexchange/
Almond Caramel Popcorn https://www.smalltownwoman.com/almond-caramel-popcorn/
Apple & Butternut Squash Galette with Chai Buckwheat Crust and Coconut Caramel Drizzle https://www.moonandspoonandyum.com/blog/apple-butternut-squash-galette-with-chai-buckwheat-crust-and-coconut-caramel-drizzle-gluten-free
Apple Caramel Cream Cheese Bundt Cake https://www.smalltownwoman.com/apple-caramel-cream-cheese-bundt-cake/
Apple Cinnamon Scones with Salted Caramel Drizzle https://familyaroundthetable.com/2016/05/05/apple-cinnamon-scones-salted-caramel-drizzle/
Apple Spice Cupcakes with Caramel Sauce https://www.upstateramblings.com/apple-spice-cupcakes-with-caramel-sauce/
Apple Wontons with Caramel Dipping Sauce https://www.smalltownwoman.com/apple-wontons-with-caramel-dipping-sauce/
Applesauce Cake with Soft Caramel Cream Cheese Frosting https://www.cookingwithcarlee.com/2017/09/applesauce-cake-with-soft-caramel-cream.html
Apricot Salted Caramel Oreo Tart https://www.kopiaste.org/2017/07/apricot-salted-caramel-oreo-tart/
Baked Caramel Apple Crisp https://www.delicioustable.com/baked-caramel-apple-crisp-dessert/
Banoffee Pie https://www.christinascucina.com/banoffee-pie-a-simple-but-sensational-banana-toffee-and-fresh-cream-dessert/
Bird’s Nest Apple Caramel Cake http://www.mykitchenlove.com/birds-nest-apple-caramel-cake/
Bourbon Caramel Apple Cider https://www.dashofjazz.com/recipe/bourbon-caramel-apple-cider
Breaded Fried Bananas http://hadiaslebanesecuisine.com/newsite/recipe-items/breaded-fried-bananas/
Brown Butter Vanilla Birthday Cake with Salted Caramel Frosting https://www.dashofjazz.com/recipe/my-birthday-cake
Butter Pecan Oatmeal Cookies https://butteryourbiscuit.com/caramel-pecan-oatmeal-cookies/
Butterscotch Bourbon Budino with Salted Caramel https://www.platingsandpairings.com/butterscotch-bourbon-budino-with-salted-caramel/
Caramel Apple Baked Donuts https://savingdollarsandsense.com/caramel-apple-baked-donuts/
Caramel Apple Cake Recipe https://www.upstateramblings.com/carmel-apple-bundt-cake-recipe/
Caramel Apple Cider Cookies https://www.centsablemomma.com/caramel-apple-cider-cookies-recipe/
Caramel Apple Cider Cupcakes http://hungerthirstplay.com/caramel-apple-cider-cupcakes/
Caramel Apple Cookies http://themondaybox.com/2015/11/caramel-apple-cookies/
Caramel Apple Cream Cheese Crescent Ring http://cincyshopper.com/caramel-apple-cream-cheese-crescent-ring/
Caramel Apple Crisp https://savingdollarsandsense.com/caramel-apple-crisp-recipe/
Caramel Apple Cupcakes http://cincyshopper.com/caramel-apple-cupcakes-recipe/
Caramel Apple Muffins https://www.coffeewithus3.com/caramel-apple-muffins/
Caramel Apple Muffins Low Carb https://beautyandthefoodie.com/caramel-apple-muffins-low-carb/
Caramel Apple Nut Bars https://familyaroundthetable.com/2017/09/25/caramel-apple-nut-bars/
Caramel Apple Oatmeal Carmelita Bars https://bakingamoment.com/caramel-apple-oatmeal-carmelita-bars/
Caramel Apple Pie Cookies http://cincyshopper.com/caramel-apple-pie-cookies/
Caramel Apple Sticky Buns https://mooreorlesscooking.com/2013/11/10/caramel-apple-sticky-buns/
Caramel Apple Taquitos http://cincyshopper.com/caramel-apple-taquitos/
Caramel Apple Taquitos Recipe https://savingdollarsandsense.com/caramel-apple-taquitos-recipe/
Caramel Apple Tart https://whatagirleats.com/caramel-apple-tart/
Caramel Apples Snickers Salad https://dancingthroughtherain.com/caramel-apples-snickers-salad/
Caramel Banana Muffins https://www.simplystacie.net/2017/11/caramel-banana-muffins/
Caramel Cake https://aprilgolightly.com/caramel-cake-recipe/
Caramel Cashew Cupcakes https://spaceshipsandlaserbeams.com/blog/party-food/caramel-cashew-cupcakes
Caramel Chocolate Peanut Bars http://themondaybox.com/2016/01/caramel-chocolate-peanut-bars/
Caramel Cream Cheese Frosting http://www.thekitchenismyplayground.com/2017/10/caramel-cream-cheese-frosting.html
Caramel Peanut Butter Cookie Cups https://www.thisisnotdietfood.com/caramel-peanut-butter-cookie-cups/
Caramel Pear Charlotte https://bakingamoment.com/caramel-pear-charlotte/
Caramel Pecan Banana Date Bread https://www.homemadefoodjunkie.com/caramel-pecan-banana-date-bread/
Caramel Pecan Bar https://www.organizedisland.com/caramel-pecan-bar-recipe/
Caramel Pecan Cheesecake https://bakingamoment.com/caramel-pecan-cheesecake/
Caramel Popcorn https://www.beyondthechickencoop.com/caramel-popcorn/
Caramel Popcorn with Peanuts http://themondaybox.com/2017/01/caramel-popcorn-peanuts/
Caramel Shortcake https://www.christinascucina.com/how-to-make-shortbread/
Caramel Squares with Fruit Nuts https://veenaazmanov.com/caramel-squares-fruit-nut-halva/
Caramel Walnut Coffee Cake https://myculturedpalate.com/caramel-walnut-coffee-cake/
Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting & Caramel Sauce https://spaceshipsandlaserbeams.com/blog/cool-cakes/carrot-cake-with-cream-cheese-frosting-caramel-sauce
Cast Iron Blue Ribbon Caramel Apple Pie https://thisoldgal.com/blue-ribbon-caramel-apple-pie/
Chocolate and Salted Bourbon Caramel Cupcakes http://thesimple-sweetlife.com/2018/02/19/chocolate-and-salted-bourbon-caramel-cupcakes/
Chocolate Caramel Cheesecake Tartlets https://bakingamoment.com/chocolate-caramel-cheesecake-tartlets/
Chocolate Covered Caramel Popcorn Balls https://mooreorlesscooking.com/2014/10/23/chocolate-covered-caramel-popcorn-balls/
Chocolate Espresso Caramel Brownie https://cookingontheweekends.com/2012/11/flourless-chocolate-espresso-caramel-brownies/
Chocolate Meringue Nests with Salted Caramel Sauce and Cacoa Nibs https://www.thespicedlife.com/chocolate-meringue-nests-with-salted-caramel-sauce-and-cacoa-nibs/
Chocolate Pecan Caramel Turtles https://www.smalltownwoman.com/chocolate-pecan-caramel-turtles/
Cinnamon Dessert Nachos with Salted Caramel Apple Dip https://www.theflavorbender.com/cinnamon-dessert-nachos-with-salted-caramel-apple-dip/
Coffee Cupcakes Salted Caramel Frosting https://www.homemadefoodjunkie.com/coffee-cupcakes-salted-caramel-frosting/
Copycat Starbucks Caramel Frappeccino https://dancingthroughtherain.com/copycat-starbucks-caramel-frappuccino/
Craving Bars https://www.dashofjazz.com/recipe/craving-bars
Creamy Caramel Sweetened Condensed Frosting https://www.cookingwithcarlee.com/2017/07/creamy-caramel-sweetened-condensed-milk.html
Crunchy Chocolate Pumpkin Caramels https://www.theflavorbender.com/crunchy-chocolate-pumpkin-caramels-rice-krispie-bars/
Dairy-Free Salted Caramel Ice Cream Pie https://www.allergyfreealaska.com/dairy-free-salted-caramel-ice-cream-pie/
Dark Chocolate Caramel Pecan Bacon Candy http://www.honeyandlime.co/2013/07/dark-chocolate-caramel-bacon-pecan-candy-recipe.html
Double Caramel Cookies https://spaceshipsandlaserbeams.com/blog/party-food/double-caramel-cookies
Earl Grey Creme Caramel https://bakingamoment.com/earl-grey-creme-caramel/
Easy Apple Tart with Yogurt Filling and Caramel Sauce https://nourishnutritionblog.com/easy-apple-tart/
Easy Vegan Dark Chocolate Caramel Cups https://themovementmenu.com/recipes/vegan-dark-chocolate-caramel/
English Sticky Toffee Pudding http://www.lavenderandmacarons.com/desserts/english-sticky-toffee-pudding-2/
Five Minute Creamy Caramel Frappuccino https://www.smalltownwoman.com/five-minute-creamy-caramel-frappuccino/
Fresh Honeycrisp Apple Cake with To-Die-For Caramel Buttercream Frosting https://unsophisticook.com/apple-cake-recipe/
Gluten-Free Caramel Apple Crisp https://www.whattheforkfoodblog.com/2016/10/30/gluten-free-caramel-apple-crisp-recipe/
Gluten-Free Caramel Apple Crisp in Jars http://mygluten-freekitchen.com/gluten-free-caramel-apple-crisp-in-jars/
Gluten-Free Caramel Macchiato Cake https://www.glutenfreepalate.com/caramel-macchiato-cake/
Gluten-Free Cheesecake Brownies with Dulce de Leche https://myglutenfreemiami.com/gluten-free-cheesecake-brownies-dulce-de-leche/
Gluten-Free Salted Caramel Brownie https://confessionsofanover-workedmom.com/salted-caramel-brownie-recipe-gluten-free/
Grilled Caramel Apple Crunch https://www.coffeewithus3.com/grilled-caramel-apple-crunch/
Groovy Caramel Bars https://mooreorlesscooking.com/2012/08/11/groovy-caramel-bars/
Guinness Stout Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes with Salted Caramel Sauce https://whatagirleats.com/guinness-stout-dark-chocolate-pudding-cakes-with-salted-caramel-sauce/
Healthier Chocolate Caramel Cookie https://avirtualvegan.com/healthier-chocolate-caramel-cookie-cups/
Healthy Caramel Apple Dip https://pinkfortitude.com/caramel-apple-dip/
Homemade Caramel Banana Ice Cream https://veenaazmanov.com/homemade-caramel-banana-ice-cream/
Homemade Caramel Corn https://myculturedpalate.com/homemade-caramel-corn-quick-easy/
Homemade Caramel Sauce in Your Slow Cooker https://unsophisticook.com/caramel-sauce-recipe/
Homemade Caramel Vanilla Pudding https://www.majhofftakesawife.com/easy-caramel-vanilla-pudding/
Homemade Salted Caramel Brownies http://wannabite.com/homemade-salted-caramel-brownies/
How to Make Caramel and Caramel Sauce https://www.kopiaste.org/2017/06/how-to-make-caramel-and-caramel-sauce/
Individual No-Bake Salted Caramel Cheesecakes https://www.whattheforkfoodblog.com/2017/11/12/no-bake-salted-caramel-cheesecakes/
Insanely Delicious Turtle Cookies http://www.thekitchenismyplayground.com/2012/09/insanely-delicious-turtle-cookies.html
Instant Pot Chocolate Caramel Cheesecake https://gardeninthekitchen.com/instant-pot-chocolate-caramel-cheesecake/
Instant Pot Peanut Butter Caramel Cheesecake https://www.supergoldenbakes.com/2018/03/instant-pot-peanut-butter-caramel-cheesecake.html
Instant Pot Turtle Lava Cake https://www.onehappyhousewife.com/instant-pot-lava-cake/
Knock Your Socks Off Brownies https://mooreorlesscooking.com/2012/10/06/knock-your-socks-off-brownies-video/
Low Carb Pecan Pie Bites http://www.resolutioneats.com/blog/low-carb-pecan-pie-bites
Marshmallow Chocolate Caramel Cheesecake https://sweetandsavorymeals.com/toasted-marshmallow-chocolate-caramel-cheesecake/
Mastic White Chocolate Blondies with Salted Caramel https://www.kopiaste.org/2017/09/mastic-white-chocolate-blondies-salted-caramel/
No-Bake Caramel Apple Pie Protein Bars https://www.onecleverchef.com/no-bake-caramel-apple-pie-protein-bars/
Old Fashioned Bread Pudding with Homemade Caramel Sauce https://savingdollarsandsense.com/how-to-make-a-bread-pudding/
Peanut Butter, Caramel & Pretzel Bites https://numstheword.com/peanut-butter-caramel-pretzel-bites/
Pecan Turtles https://numstheword.com/pecan-turtles/
Pistachio Caramel Apple Butter Pancakes https://sweetandsavorymeals.com/pistachio-caramel-apple-butter-pancakes/
Pumpkin Pancakes with Cinnamon Caramel Syrup https://longbournfarm.com/homemade-pancake-mix-pumpkin-pancakes/
Rice Krispie Caramilk Bars http://www.officiallyglutenfree.com/2015/06/rice-crispy-caramilk-bars/
Salted Caramel Apple Pie https://shoppingkim.com/salted-caramel-apple-pie-recipe/
Salted Caramel Apple Pie Bars https://anerdcooks.com/2016/11/03/salted-caramel-apple-pie-bars/
Salted Caramel Brownie Ice Cream with Turtles Clusters https://bakingamoment.com/salted-caramel-brownie-ice-cream-with-turtles-clusters/
Salted Caramel Brownies http://www.theorganickitchen.org/salted-caramel-brownies/
Salted Caramel Butter Bars https://www.kleinworthco.com/salted-caramel-butter-bars/
Salted Caramel Chocolate Tart http://blondieishatkitchen.com/en_US/tart-so-slanym-karamelom-a-cokoladou/
Salted Caramel Cinnamon Rolls http://www.5minutesformom.com/123614/salted-caramel-cinnamon-rolls-recipe/
Salted Caramel Cookie Bites https://spaceshipsandlaserbeams.com/blog/party-food/salted-caramel-cookie-bite
Salted Caramel Cookies https://dancingthroughtherain.com/salted-caramel-cookies/
Salted Caramel Cupcakes http://blondieishatkitchen.com/en_US/cupcakes-so-slanym-karamelom/
Salted Caramel Date Shake https://culinaryginger.com/salted-caramel-date-shake/
Salted Caramel Hand Pies http://wannabite.com/salted-caramel-hand-pies/
Salted Caramel Ice Cream Shake with Chopped Chocolate http://www.theorganickitchen.org/salted-caramel-ice-cream-shake-with-chopped-chocolate/
Salted Caramel Ice-Blended Coffee https://aprilgolightly.com/salted-caramel-ice-blended-coffee/
Salted Caramel Lemon Poppy Pound Cake https://www.kopiaste.org/2015/06/salted-caramel-lemon-poppy-pound-cake/
Salted Caramel Pecan Cookies https://themovementmenu.com/recipes/salted-caramel-pecan-cookies/
Salted Caramel Pecan Popcorn https://gardeninthekitchen.com/salted-caramel-pecan-popcorn/
Salted Caramel Pretzel Cake http://hungerthirstplay.com/salted-caramel-pretzel-cake/
Salted Caramel Pretzel Chocolate Chip Cookies https://anerdcooks.com/2016/05/02/salted-caramel-pretzel-chocolate-chip-cookies/
Salted Caramel Pretzel Sundaes http://www.betondinner.com/salted-caramel-pretzel-sundaes/
Salted Caramel Pudding https://bakingamoment.com/salted-caramel-pudding/
Salted Caramel Skillet Cookie https://www.kleinworthco.com/salted-caramel-skillet-cookie/
Salted Caramel Sweet Potato Blondies https://www.dashofjazz.com/2017/10/17/fall-home-finds-salted-caramel-sweet-potato-blondies-recipe
Salted Caramel Turnovers http://wannabite.com/salted-caramel-apple-turnovers/
Salted Caramel Yogurt Popsicles https://www.platingsandpairings.com/salted-caramel-yogurt-popsicles/
Salted Chipotle Caramel Corn http://thymeforcocktails.com/salted-chipotle-caramel-corn/
Salted Chocolate Caramel Tart http://www.mykitchenlove.com/cookbook-club-the-new-easy-salted-chocolate-caramel-tart/
Salted Spiced Caramel Potato Cake http://cookingontheweekends.com/2013/10/salted-spiced-caramel-potato-cake-recipe-gluten-free/
Samoa Fudge Bombs https://beautyandthefoodie.com/samoa-fudge-bombs/
Simple Caramel Apple Cupcakes https://www.organizedisland.com/simple-caramel-apple-cupcakes/
Simply Perfect Salted Caramel Sauce https://bakingamoment.com/simply-perfect-salted-caramel-sauce/
Slow Cooker Caramel Apple Dip http://cincyshopper.com/slow-cooker-caramel-apple-dip/
Soft + Chewy Salted Caramel Cookies http://hungerthirstplay.com/salted-caramel-cookies/
Soft and Chewy Caramel Chocolate Cookies http://themondaybox.com/2013/09/soft-and-chewy-caramel-chocolate-cookies/
Spiked Caramel Egg http://www.ayearofcocktails.com/2014/03/spiked-caramel-egg.html?m=1
The Best Caramel Apple Scone Recipe https://foodal.com/recipes/breakfast/caramel-apple-scones/
Turtle Brownie Bites Recipe http://www.5minutesformom.com/111676/turtle-brownie-bites-recipe/
Vegan Sweet Potato Pancakes with Caramel Sauce https://avirtualvegan.com/vegan-sweet-potato-pancakes/
Warm Gingerbread Cake with Salted Caramel Sauce https://deliciousonadime.com/gingerbread-cake-with-salted-caramel-sauce/
Whole Wheat Caramel Cookies http://themondaybox.com/2017/10/whole-wheat-caramel-cookies/

Caramel Lovers Unite! National Caramel Day + 145 Recipes

Caramel Lovers Unite! National Caramel Day + 145 Recipes

Join the Son Shine Community

Become a master of the kitchen.
Acquire new recipes, learn new techniques, and discuss your kitchen accomplishments & mishaps with others.

We won't send you spam. Unsubscribe at any time. Powered by ConvertKit

13 thoughts on “Caramel Lovers Unite! National Caramel Day + 145 Recipes

  1. Now if someone can’t find a caramel recipe they love something is wrong with them. It would take me for ever to work my way through this awesome list.

  2. I love caramel right from coffee, popcorn, pudding.. I love it in everything. The spiked apple cider looks amazing. Thanks for sharing all the recipe links.

  3. While reading your post my mouth was watering thinking of the amazing recipe. I am definitely trying them for the sweet tooth of mine 🙂

  4. I used to love caramel, but I stopped eating dairy, so I thought caramel was out. However, I’ve discovered some vegan caramel recipes, so I’ll be celebrating with you!

  5. There are so many options for the caramel and its one of the good stuff I like to eat. I’m excited to try some of it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *